Why not adopt from here?!

I have a love/hate relationship with the question “why not adopt from here”? I think it is because I don’t see the world as only Raleigh, NC . The world is a BIG place and I strive everyday to see it through God’s eyes – not through my own. If I looked at it through my own eyes I would only see such a small part of it.

I love that question because there are SO many kids who need homes here. I know from first hand experience because right out of college I worked with Methodist Home for Children as a residential counselor in a group home. I saw the heartache these girls carried with them as they moved from location to location carrying all of their belongings in a big black trash bag. I saw them as they aged out of the “system” and had no family to take care of them, go to their graduation or offer a safe place for them to get on their own two feet as they navigated the world as an adult. It’s a reality that this takes place right here and I think we choose to turn a blind eye to it because it is easier to think this type of stuff goes on only in other places in the world. 

I dislike the question “why not adopt from here” because I think it forces people to forget about the world being a BIG place and that there is a NEED all over the world for children to have families. Also, I dislike it because when families decide to adopt their situations are all different. Each family is made up differently –  every family has difference desires, different talents, different support systems, different financial situations, different ages, different sizes, etc. I think you get the point. All of these “differences” lead them to make a decision about what type of adoption is right for the child/children they will make part of their family. 

I know this is a big “hot topic” and so many people bring up valid points on adopting domestically and internationally. I don’t think there is a right or wrong place to adopt from because adoption is beautiful no matter where you adopt from.

All of that to say, please don’t be afraid to ask me the question “why not adopt from here?” because I love it and dislike it and I would love to talk to you about our answer! 

Leave a Reply

