Big News!

You know that phone call we have been anxiously awaiting to let us know if we can adopt our little one?! Well, we received it today and it was great news!  We have been approved by China to adopt this precious one and are so very excited. I wanted to share with you something I wrote in my journal on June 6, 2013 – before we applied to adopt from the China Special Needs Program. It’s special to me because for quite a while we didn’t think we would be able to adopt from China because of some laws in China that prevented it. 

“Dear Lord, You know that we desire to have another child and we want to know what steps to take now. God, we want to serve you with our home that YOU have blessed us with. Not our physical home necessarily, but with our family. I know that we have been blessed greatly with a healthy, Godly marriage. It is by your grace that you have given us this. God, there are so many children in the world that will never experience a family like ours, a family that wants to follow you daily. God, please protect our family and show us how to use it to glorify you! 

 

God, you know my personal deep desire to adopt a child with special needs from China. God, I don’t think you have given me this desire for no reason, for it not to be fulfilled. Lord, I pray for the barriers that are keeping us from adopting from China to be broken. God, please remove them so that our child will be able to come home. I really know, without a doubt, that he or she is already born or that you already know which child will eventually be born and placed into our arms. Please give me the strength to push through this barrier and to PRAY PRAY PRAY despite discouragement along the way. I’m praying with expectation because I believe you have called us to adopt from China and you wouldn’t have called us to if it wasn’t possible. I love you Lord, Amen.”

Ok, you should feel pretty special that you got a glimpse into my very secret journal. I wanted to share it with you so you can see how God does break down barriers when He has called you to do something and you follow. 

We still have a long way to go and a lot more barriers to push through, but days like today remind me of God’s faithfulness. Happy Preliminary Acceptance Day to us!! 

 

2 thoughts on “Big News!

  1. Tricia and Dave, We are sooo happy for both of you. You have been and continue to be in our prayers not only for this special adoption, but for your marriage and personal struggles. Thanks for sharing from your heart (your journal) and how God is faithful in answering our prayers in His timing!

    Love, Dad and Mom Esh

Leave a Reply

