A few updates

On Tuesday night we had our first home study visit! Our social worker is great and I think Landon has a little crush on her. He spent the time trying to show off by announcing that he needs to go to the potty, playing with her hair and begging for lots of piggy back rides. All of that to say, I am sure he is looking forward to Monday night (our next visit).

We will have a total of 3-4 visits before the home study is complete so that we can apply for our I-800 and complete our dossier! I know all of these terms are confusing (I am still trying to figure them out). There are so many steps to international adoption is can be quite overwhelming, and at times, discouraging. The hardest part is knowing that Max is on the other side of the world and we can’t hold him, comfort him or provide the medical care he needs. I have to remind myself that the BEST thing we can do is pray for him daily. I find myself praying that God will provide someone to love on him and each morning, at breakfast, Landon and I pray for Max to have a good night’s sleep (I am sure this confuses Landon a little, haha).

Although Satan likes to discourage me, God prevails and offers encouragement right when I need it….like this email I received from a friend right before our home study visit:

“Do you remember that not SIX MONTHS ago we vegged out on a beach towel at the marriage retreat at fort caswell and talked about being faithful that God would open doors for you all to adopt from China.

Dude.

He not only opened them but he flung em wide and put a door stop. (Providing funding and a waiver and MAX!)
He’s bigger than our fear and insecurity.  He is sovereign and faithful.
He already knows the hoops to jump through on your adoption journey and he’s already positioned little mini trampolines before them to help you all get through them.
I love you and I can’t wait to hear how great it goes!”
WOW…what a reminder of God’s sovereignty in this journey. It was only 6 months ago that I doubted we would ever be able to adopt from China, but I just couldn’t shake the calling. Now, I am waiting to bring our son home from China and although the waiting is difficult, really difficult, I am reminded by friends, and God’s word, that He is sovereign. Like Daniel, I am choosing to get down on my knees and praise God…
“Praise be to the name of God for ever and ever 
wisdom and power are his. 
He changes times and seasons; 
he sets up kings and deposes them. 
He gives wisdom to the wise
and knowledge to the discerning. 
He reveals deep and hidden things; 
he knows what lies in darkness, 
and light dwells with him. 
I thank and praise you, O God of my fathers:
You have given me wisdom and power, 
you have made known to me what we asked of you, 
you have made known to us the dream of the king.”
Daniel 2:20-23
Even though there are so many hoops to jump through to get to our little boy, I can rest in God’s sovereignty and give my frustrations to Him. Please join us in praying that God will provide someone to love on little Max until we can. Please pray that as he lay in his crib alone, he will feel God’s arms wrapped around him….
Leave a Reply

