Landon’s Room

This past weekend I started to have a freak-out session (I might be exaggerating a little bit here, but I did realize that time is passing me by quickly). My little Landon is not so little anymore….ImageOn Monday, Dave made Landon’s crib into a “toddler bed”. It hit me that I never really captured his nursery in pictures…and we worked HARD on his nursery. Turning the crib into a big boy bed really didn’t change it much, it just made me get on the ball to take pictures of his room so we won’t forget it….sooooo welcome to Landon’s room (soon to be Max’s and Landon’s room)

Let me first start by saying, babies could care less about de-popcorned ceilings and crown molding. Before having Landon, Dave and I did a lot of DIY projects around the house. The biggest project was our kitchen, but that is a whole different post. So, even though babies could care less about the details, Landon’s room is now our favorite room in the house. Here is a before picture (BEWARE: it’s pretty bad):ย Image

This was our multi-purpose room for a couple of years, aka the junk room. This is the only picture I could find of the room before we re-did it, but you get the point- it was U-G-L-Y. To spruce it up, we de-popcorned the ceiling, added crown molding, and put up a high bead board chair railing. We also changed that awful Violet color to Navy Blue.

And here is that same corner now..

Image

We wanted his nursery to be something for him to grow into and I am so glad we decided to go that route. I felt like just having a crib, changing table and rocker in his room made it feel enough like a nursery. Now that he isn’t a baby anymore, we don’t have to do any major re-decorating.

Let me make a disclaimer here: Landon’s room IS NOT usually this clean. Our plans were canceled this morning (snow day) and we worked on cleaning and organizing his room with our free time ๐Ÿ™‚ ย Image

I painted his name to look like a sport font. If I can remember (this was 2 1/2 years ago) I traced the letters on to contact paper to make a sticker. I then cut the sticker to make it a little smaller than the actual letter and then spray painted the letters red. Pulled off the sticker and ta da!ย Daves bball jersey

One of my favorite parts about Landon’s room i that we were able to incorporate some of Dave’s childhood into it. That jersey was Dave’s when he played basketball in high school. #24 was quite a stud muffin ๐Ÿ˜‰

Image

Another secret: I hung the chalkboard this morning. I made it from an old frame and spray paint (you will soon learn that spray paint is my best friend). So far, it has also been used for birthday and Christmas decorating. Let me know if you want me to make you one and I will sell it to you for $20 to help raise money to bring Max home! I have quite a few frames left over from our yard sale.

Image

I love how this cubby hole shelf turned out.We bought the shelf from Target and I used scrap book paper and modge podge to cover the back of the shelf. ย I searched high and low for those buckets and finally found them for $6 bucks at the Tractor Supply Co. and spray painted them. Those little labels (yeah, made those this morning too) I cut out of chalkboard contact paper. Let me know if you would like me to make some for you! They ship easy and I can make different shapes for you. Ok, I am really not trying to turn this blog post into a sale’s ad…I just had quite a few ides for crafty fundraisers this morningย ๐Ÿ™‚

shelf - labels

ย frame - landons room

I made that frame for Dave when we were dating and thought it went with the theme of the room….boy, we sure do look young there!

tool set - landons room

This is quite possibly my favorite part of Landon’s room…it isn’t sports related, but it was Dave’s when he was little. Can you believe it?! I think something like this would be recalled today. The tools actually work. I love the antique feel of it.

picture wall - landons room

This is the wall about the cubby hole shelf. I want to add a few more frames and pictures to it, but those are baby pictures of me, Landon and Dave.

bat - landons room

Yep, that bat was Dave’s when he was little. I had no idea how to hang it for the longest time and just came up with the idea of using twine. Hopefully it won’t fall!

light switch - landons room

The light switch is one of the few things we actually bought for his room… I think I got it from Hobby Lobby along with the picture below. I did spray paint the frame white though ๐Ÿ™‚

chianging table - landons room

We actually could probably get rid of the changing pad on the table, but I am not sure if we will need it when Max gets home. Just in case, we are leaving it for now. This is actually my grandmother’s furniture from when she was a little girl! I love it and repainted it about 10 years ago. The little containers are inspired by something I found in the Pottery Barn catalog. I bought the containers from AC Moore (they were already cut in half ) and spray painted them. I also hand painted the lettering on them. I should have labeled them all “etc.” since random stuff ends up in all of them.

reading nook- landons room

We found this glider on Craigslist and I found the ottoman from Goodwill for $5 and recovered it. The only disappointing thing is that it takes up so much room so we will probably need to get rid of it soon. I think I may need a smaller rocking chair for Max because I definitely want lots of cuddle time with him.

book shelf landons room

These book shelves are a pinterest idea (not a Tricia idea). They are originally spice racks from IKEA and I spray painted them (surprise surprise!) Can you really we love Curious Geroge?!

shelf two - landons room

This shelf was a random $3 find at a yard sale…and guess what?! I spray painted it.

lamp table- landons room

I also made the lamp…..

JK

We found it at Home Goods and it was the very first thing we bought for Landon’s nursery! It inspired the “vintage sports theme” we have goin’ on. Gram-E (Dave’s mom) made the heart for Landon on her computer at school! The words are all special people in Landon’s life.

So, there ya go…a peak into Landon’s room. It will need a little changing up soon…like another bed ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Landon’s Room

  1. Pingback: The Boy’s Room | A Beautiful Mess

Leave a Reply

