Imago Dei (Image of God)

I have gone back and forth on whether or not to write about Max’s Special Need. Not because I am ashamed of it or scared to share about it, but because sometimes I think we, as a culture, share too much about our children online; divulging information that may one day embarrass them or take away from their chance to tell their story.

Please do not get me wrong, I love blogging about our adoption story and I don’t think that sharing about your kids online is always negative. My hope is that one day Max will be able to read this story and from it see the love we had for him even before meeting him. Part of me wishes I would have started this blog when I was pregnant with Landon, so he would have the same.

In Max’s case, his special need is bilateral microtia and atresia and is something that will be visible to those he meets when he comes home. I know, most of you are like “what in the world is that”? Dave and I both said the same thing when we were reviewing Max’s file, and honestly, we have so much more to learn about it. This website explains it better than I can: http://www.microtia.us.com/

If I am completely honest with you, Max’s special need is not something I think a lot about. I am sure it will become very real to me when he comes home and we have a ton of doctor’s appointment and surgeries, but right now all I can think about is him being in an orphanage so far away when we long to hug and hold him. I have been thinking a lot about how I do not want his special need to define him, but to be a part of him that makes him stronger….I desire for others to see him not as a “Special Needs Child” but as a “Child with Special Needs”. You see, Max is made in the image of God and his special need is just a part of life – something we will help him live with and use for God’s glory.

 Image

…and he is beautiful and sooo worth the wait and struggles that come with adoption.

One thought on “Imago Dei (Image of God)

  1. The doctor I work for goes on multiple mission trips a year solely to perform microtia surgery for children in other countries. It’s been an honor to learn more about microtia and see the work that he does for children whose families could never afford surgery (and the children he’s treated here).

    Max is precious, thank you for sharing more of his story!

Leave a Reply

