Puzzle Fundraiser

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see” Hebrews 11:1

I know that it wasn’t “by chance” that I read all of Hebrews 11 this morning. You see, my faith is sometimes so weak. I often remind myself of Thomas, who doubted that Jesus had risen from the dead. He told the other disciples “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.” John 20:25. I often want the “proof” that God will provide. It’s easy to live in the moment and forget how God has provided in the past.

For many years I have always loved the verse “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matthew 5:26. When I get out of my “Thomas mindset”, and focus on the TRUTH of that verse, my faith in God is so much stronger. You see, it is easy for me to live in the moment and forget how God has provided in the past. Finances have always been so difficult for me to relinquish control of. Maybe it is because I have been on my own since a young age, having to provide for myself and watch every penny I spent so that I would have enough to pay for necessities. It has been easy for Satan to sneak into that area of my life and cause me to worry about “where the money will come from”.

You know what is funny?? God knows this weakness in me and is still, to this day, refining me. He has called me to do many things where the money just hasn’t been there. He called me to minister to college students in East Asia and the US and He provided the funds, He called Dave and I to go to minister to street kids in Uganda and He provided the funds, and now He has called us to adopt Max and is currently providing the funds we need to bring him home.

I’m in awe of all God has done already …He has provided a total of $19,552.07 for Max’s adoption! Here is the break down of our fundraising totals so far:

Yard Sale, Craigslist and Consigning: $3,429.07

Donations: $2,875

AdoptTogether Tax Deductible Donations: $11,100

Wine and Design: $210

Thirty-One Party: $97

Facebook Auction:$883

Cakes: $958

Total: $19,552.07

I am still in awe of how much this process of raising funds for Max’s adoption has strengthened my faith. When we first started going through our finances to figure out how we would pay for this adoption, it was daunting. So many books and articles I read talked about “tightening your budget” to save. We already did that way before starting to adopt: no cable, no car payments, $50/week grocery budget (give or take some weeks),  and we rarely eat out. So, how were we going to bring Max home? Complete trust in God’s provision. He has used so many of you to help pay for agency fees, home study fees, immigration fees, etc.

So far, we are still in need of $10,448.00 to bring Max home. Even though I often doubt, God has already used this blog post and reading his Word this morning to remind me He will provide for the rest of Max’s adoption.

So, now for the fun part: introducing our next fundraiser! Image

Yep, we are going to put that 500 piece puzzle together and would love for your name to be on the back of a piece(s)! We are selling each piece for $10 and hope to raise a total of $5,000 once the puzzle is put together. Here is the double sided glasses from we will use to display the puzzle once it’s complete:

ImageImage

When you flip the puzzle over, you will see all of the names of friends and family who have donated towards Max’s adoption! What a beautiful representation of the love that everyone already has for our sweet boy.

If you would like to purchase a piece, you can go to our adopt together account to make a tax deductible donation! We will see your donation pop up in our email account and will write your name on a piece and add it to the puzzle.

Here is the link to our adopt together account:

https://www.adopttogether.org/00627

If you prefer, you can purchase a piece in person/mail with cash or a check (it just won’t be tax deductible).

Feel free to email me with any questions at tricia.eshleman@gmail.com

Thank you again for all of your support and prayers! We are truly blessed by our friends and family who have already been a BIG part of bringing our little Max home.

Love,

Dave, Tricia, Landon and Max

3 thoughts on “Puzzle Fundraiser

  1. Pingback: “Max Sit Here” | A Beautiful Mess

  2. Pingback: A Beautiful Mess

  3. Pingback: T-shirt Fundraiser | A Beautiful Mess

Leave a Reply

