Visas, visas and more visas

And no, I don’t mean the “plastic” kind of visa that is fun to go shopping with. Since we received LOA, we have been in the midst of more paperwork to get Max home. We sent off I800 paperwork (basically a petition to make Max our son) and received approval for that last week. Right after we sent off the I800 paperwork, we filled out applications, paid the fees and mailed our passports to the China consulate to get our travel visas.

Now? We are in the midst of applying and getting Max’s visa. This past week I was on the phone a lot (or on hold) with the NVC (National Visa Center). Once the NVC received our I800 paperwork, I was able to go online and fill out a visa application for Max as his petitioner. It was quite interesting because I answered several questions similar to “Are you a member or representative of a terrorist organization” or “Are you coming to the U.S. to practice polygamy?” Remember, I am filling this out for Max. I sure hope my not quite 2 year old isn’t planning to come to the U.S. to be a polygamist 😉 

In a way, this busy type of waiting is easier because I feel as though I am doing something to get Max home. Waiting for our LOA was difficult because we worked so hard to get to that point then there was nothing…just waiting , with no light at the end of the tunnel. We are still hoping for September travel, but won’t know for sure until about 3 or 4 weeks from now. Our next step is Article 5 drop off and pick up. Honestly, I am not exactly sure what this is, but I do know it takes exactly two weeks and then we wait for Travel Approval. Sooo, we are getting closer and closer! 

We are getting super excited and I have taken some time off from making cakes to get ready for Max and focus on these last steps in the process. We have mainly spent the summer here in Raleigh, but we were able to go on a few weekend beach trips with friends! My friend “Rae Rae”, as Landon calls her, took these awesome pictures of us at the Eastern Shore in VA. She took us there to visit her sweet momma and we were spoiled big time. I love how they turned out! She has taken pictures of our family at the beach for the last 3 years. Thanks Raeanne!

 blog2 blog3blog1 blog4 blog5 blog6 blog7 blog8 blog9 blog10 blog11 blog12 blog13 blog14 blog15 blog16We are enjoying the summer, BUT can’t wait for the Fall to meet our sweet boy!

 

One thought on “Visas, visas and more visas

Leave a Reply

