Goodbye Raleigh..Hello Kunming

image

image

The day has finally come- we are waiting to board our plane that will take us to Detroit and on to our son’s first home – Kunming, China. I have so so much to write about, so this might be the longest post yet.

Here is a “brief” recap of the last two days:

On Thursday, we said goodbye to Landon for 19 days. This will be the longest we have been away from him and we were both pretty emotional. We know he will have so much fun with Dave’s side of the family in NY, he will be well taken care of and we hope to Skype with him often. Although we knew all of these things, worries still filled my mind the day he left, such as “what if he feels replaced by Max?”or “what if he thinks we have abandoned him?” Even though these worries might creep up again, right now I feel so peaceful about where he is (thanks to a lot of prayer and encouragement from friends). I know God is much bigger than my worries and He knew, way before we did, that this day would come. We do miss him terribly, but he has and always will be in God’s hands (and those are much safer than mine, I might add). I have taken comfort in this so many times past year when I have wanted to protect and care for Max.

image

image

The morning before Landon left for New York, he immediately woke up, packed his little suitcase with his blanket and all of his pacifiers, as well as a pair of his new undies. Way to remember to pack the underwear! I thought he was still sleeping, and when I went to his room to get him, he was standing at the door saying “mommy, I ready to go on airplane with you and daddy now”. THAT did not help this emotional mommy. Our sweet boy will get to ride on an airplane in a few weeks, but it will be for about 2 hours, not 20+ hours.

image

Now on to the “robot “boot”…..

image

Yep, I have to wear that thing for the next 4ish weeks. If any of you have been to China, you know it is not the easiest place to get around and walking is pretty much inevitable. So, how did it happen? About a week and a half ago my foot was in pain, but it wasn’t that bad. I thought I had just irritated an old injury and that it would quickly go away with some ice and ibuprofen. That happened right around the beginning of the crazy last two weeks we had. When we found out we only had two days to prepare to leave for China, Dave noticed it was swollen and I realized it wasn’t getting better, but was getting worse. I called and scheduled an appt. with Raleigh Orthopedics that day, had x-rays, and found out I have a stress fracture in the middle of my foot. Honestly, it sounds and looks a lot worse than it is. Hopefully, with the help of the fashionable boot, it will heal properly and won’t turn into a serious fracture.

I’ll be honest, at first I was discouraged because it was just another “thing” added to one of the most stressful, exciting, emotional weeks ever. But, you know what? We wouldn’t be in Beijing right now if God’s hands had not orchestrated all of the details to get us here in two days. I can see God in the doctor’s appointment I was able to schedule so quickly, in the fact that I went to the doctor before China and didn’t wait, in how Dave’s dad drove about 22 hours in two days to come and get Landon, and most importantly, that we get to meet Max THIS Monday.

image

I have been working on this post at different layovers and right now we are in the plane that will take us to Kunming. I have missed China. Even though Dave and I have not slept in over 24 hours, I am so happy to be back in a country that holds such a special place in my heart. I pray that one day the love that God has given me for China will be used to help create a special bond between mother and son….

Good night to us and good morning to you 🙂

One thought on “Goodbye Raleigh..Hello Kunming

  1. All I can say is God bless you both! I can’t wait until you’re typing your next entry one-handed because you have Max in your arms! Hugs & much love from me & Joe

Leave a Reply

