Happy 3rd Birthday Max!

Dear “Maxipoo” (I’m sorry, I know you will probably despise this nickname one day),

So much has changed in your life this past year! You have the same strong, outgoing personality as when we first met you, but you have finally allowed us to see the sweet softness of your heart. You hug and kiss not only us, but all your stuffed animals and Daisy too. Your laugh is so contagious and you light up a room when you enter it.

You amaze me….

Sometimes I forget what a difficult year you have had – full of so many transitions and one big move to a family who probably looked so different and even scary to you.

Here you are on your 2nd birthday….

IMG_0169

And now look at you at 3 years old! You have grown so much!

Max grown up

You still “keep me on my toes” and I don’t see that changing any time soon. Somehow, even after making scary jumps off our staircase, you haven’t managed to break a bone. You are a little natural gymnast and I can’t wait to see how God uses your athletic ability! You are also creative and your problem solving mind blows me away. If you want something, you’ll figure out how to get it, even if it puts your life in danger and makes me want to pull my hair out! I’ll never forget the time you styled Daisy’s hair with gel and toothpaste, gave her a haircut and covered her in stickers. You love your Daisy so much we decided to throw a puppy party for your first birthday celebrated on American soil!

IMG_8362

IMG_8275

Sometimes I get sad and I ache for the years I missed with you. I didn’t get to see your first tooth grow in or get excited with you when you took your first steps. I didn’t get to see you roll over or hear your first giggles, BUT I have been able to experience so many other very special “firsts” with you this year. I will hold these moments so close to my heart because of the many I missed. One of my favorite “firsts” was experiencing you hear for the first time! I’ll never forget the joy I felt knowing you could hear me say “I love you” and that moment will be forever etched in my memory…

We have developed such a sweet bond as you learn to speak and comprehend language. This journey has been new for me too, especially learning about all the ins and outs of what services you need to get you caught up. You have blown everyone away with how fast you have learned to communicate and comprehend in such a short amount of time. So many people have helped us get to this point and I am so grateful for your teachers and therapists. They have given us both so much  support and knowledge. I cannot wait for you to start preschool – a school where I just know you are going to grow leaps and bounds in your speech development. It will be yet another big transition for you, but with your strength and determination I know you will succeed!!

Even though it is quite loud, I LOVE when you try to get my attention to say a word that you know. You usually start off yelling “Mommy! Mommy! Mommy!” and once I pay attention to you, your face lights up as you tell me the word, like “ball, airplane, dog”. These are our “firsts” and I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

Your relationship with your daddy has changed so much this year…I have loved watching it develop into something beautiful over time. It hasn’t been easy, but you have both gradually bonded in front of my eyes. You now get so excited to see daddy come home from work and love his tickles! Wrestling with him is one of your favorite things to do and it is so funny to watch you imitate his push-ups when he is working out.

IMG_8239

Little Ping Ping, I hope you know how many people love you and are better people because they know you. Your life is so valuable and I am so thankful that your birth mom gave you life. Without you, our family would be missing something – a sweet, courageous boy who God is going to use for great things. I love you so very much sweet boy.

Love,

Your Mommy

 

Leave a Reply

